Several months ago I was looking for a laptop. I saw some Macbook Pros on Craigslist that looked good and emailed about them. As it turns out, most Mac laptops on Craigslist are scam ads. I usually just ignore the emails from scammers but occasionally I like to have fun. Here is an email thread showing one such occurence. If you are not very technical just know that there are no such things as "macro initialization in the bios" and "modulation densities".
To be honest, I would never buy a Mac that only has a 1900x1200 modulation density in the screen :)
From: Bold Dreamer
Hello,
The laptop is still available and I hope you are still interested. My name is Amy and I am now in Manchester, U.K.
This machine has been used for professional needs over the past 10 Months, it is in great condition and runs perfectly, and beyond evidence of normal use the laptop is in perfect shape. The warranty is good until June 2010 and it is fully transferable. One more thing, it works on US voltage so you do not need a converter.
I have attached some pics with the laptop to this e-mail so you can see the condition of the laptop.
Please get back to me and let me know if you like the laptop if you're really interested in buying it.
Thanks,
Amy
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
From: Leo Godin
Wow, that looks great! Where is the laptop located? I'd like to take a look at it. Also, does it support macro initialization in the CMOS?
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
From: Bold Dreamer
I will pay for a 2 days delivery so you will receive the laptop within 3-4 days.
Obviously we need a safe way to complete this deal that will allow us to make sure we receive what we are after.
I have found a way for us to complete the deal safely and fast, and in this way you will receive the laptop in less than 3 days, if you move fast as well. The solution is provided by a worldwide delivery company DHL, and they will provide assistance in hadling the payment and delivery of the laptop.
With this procedure you will have the change to test the laptop before I receive my payment.
The procedure is explained on the DHL webpage and please click on the link below to the DHL website to see how we can complete the deal safely and fast directly from the website of the company.
http://www.dhl.co.uk/publish/gb/en/services/log_services/air.high.html
Let me know
Amy
-- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
From: Leo Godin
HI Amy,
I need to know if the laptop supports macro initialization of the CMOS before I consider buying it. Please let me know.
thanks,
Leo
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
From: Bold Dreamer
Hello
Yes, the laptop has those features included.
The exact procedure is explained at http://www.freightpost-dhl.com/en_uk/webship.high.html
I will also try to explain everything.
First I go to DHL with the laptop and start the delivery procedure.
After I give them the laptop for you, DHL will send you a notification to let you know the process has been initiated, and that they have the laptop for you and also the complete specifications of the laptop.
Also, in the notification they will send you clear instructions on how to make the payment to DHL, to the DHL agent's name.
After you complete your payment, then you will notify DHL, they will collect the payment and once they have your payment, then they will deliver the laptop to you in 2 days time.
After you receive the laptop you will test them to see if they are as I said.
Once you receive the laptop you will have 5 days to test the laptop and if you are 100% satisfied you will keep it and at this poing notify DHL that you are keeping the computer and that they can send me the money.
In the event that you do not like the laptop you will notify DHL you are not keeping the laptop and at this point the DHL people will come to your address and pick up the machine and give you a full refund of your money.
So it is simple, I would say.
If you agree to these terms, send me your name and address and I will go to DHL with the laptop and start the delivery procedure.
Please let me know soon
Cheers
Amy
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
From: Leo Godin
Great, This sounds like an awesome find! I have one more question. What modulation density does the screen support?
thanks,
Leo
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
From: Bold Dreamer
1900 x 1200. Do you want it?
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
From: Leo Godin
HI,
1900 x 1200 is the resolution. I'm looking for the modulation density. It is very important for the type of work I do.
Ha, I nearly got taken on this scam yesterday. My email was exactly the same as yours. Warning bells started going off when I asked questions about the DHL shipment and how it could be possible that DHL would let me test the product before paying for it. Since that time I have had no further emails from Bold Dreamer. I did a search on the Bold Dreamer name and came up with this site and another one with warnings from other users about 'Amy - Bold Dreamer'. I sent a query to Amy and enclosed a URL from another website about her so-called service and asking for comments - naturally no reply. I am so happy that there are places 'out there' that can expose these people for what they are.
I was also wondering about the fact that on the closeup of the MacBook Pro picture the keyboard was covered over - that was another warning sign.
As always I suppose, if it seems to good to be true, it probably is.
Alarm bells went off when this Amy chick said she was now in the UK but still wanted to sell the item. I got these same responses (listed above) word for word when I questioned her! I forwarded the emails to a friend of mine after reading the second response (listed above) to see what he thought and he said it sounded like a scam to him. I didn't hear back from her until today with the third response (listed above) explaining how the DHL "third party" thing works. That's when I decided to research this to see if any scams of this nature were going around. All I typed was "Amy "Bold Dreamer" UK laptop scam" and it's everywhere!! Thanks for the posting, it saved my arse!!!!
"Bold Dreamer" is still at it.
Hey, I got caught in the same email thread almost exactly. After reading your article today, I replied to Amy with the following question...
"Wow thanks, that sounds great. I really need to know one more thing about the laptop before we can make the deal. I am an engineer and have special software that requires a high modulation density. Please send me the specific rating for this laptop. Should be found in the BIOS area.
Have not heard back, will let you know. I have also notified craigslist of the scam posting.
Thanks James
You're in Easy Mode. If you prefer, you can use XHTML Mode instead. |